Pumpkin Ice Cream

I know, pumpkin is usually for pies and carving, both things in autumn. And it’s the beginning of spring. But don’t sell pumpkin short. Canned pumpkin is available year-round, and if you have a husband that loves the taste of it, like I do, you can use pumpkin in a fun, unexpected way – to make ice cream!

It’s not too difficult. This recipe does call for an ice cream maker though. It’s an item I’m glad I added to my registry, for all you brides-to-be out there.

Start with the following:

1 cup canned pumpkin puree (unsweetened)

1 cup whole milk

2 cups heavy cream

3/4 brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Small pinch of salt

Note: you can substitute pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon and ginger.

 

Put all ingredients into a blender.

Dscn1334

Pulse until mixture is smooth. Then pour into your ice cream maker.

Dscn1336

My ice cream maker is the Cuisinart 1.5 quart Ice Cream Machine. It’s a great product.

Dscn1335

Put the mixture inside the mixing tube, add the plastic churner, turn the machine on, and 20-30 minutes later, you have a tasty treat. The only complaint I have about the ice cream maker is that you can’t just make ice cream on the spur of the moment. The mixing tube must be in your freezer for 6-24 hours before you use it. In my experience, the longer you let the tube freeze, the more ice cream-like your ice cream will be.

So, after mixing, I put the ice cream in a freezer safe container, and let it freeze even more.

Dscn1374

The next day, I took it out and served some to my honey.

Dscn1375

He likes it.

Dscn1377

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

